Introduction to the 7 Main Chakras - Wiccanbrew

Home PageBlogIntroduction to the 7 Main Chakras

Introduction to the 7 Main Chakras


Originating as an Indian practice in various spiritual traditions, the chakras have nearly become common vernacular in New Age settings. These energy centers are located across your body and each holds a different energy that can be accessed to support better health and well-being.

Root Chakra

The Root chakra lives at the base of your spine at your tailbone or the place where your bottom rests on the floor when you sit. This energy is associated with security and safety, including your physical and financial security. When you work to balance the energy of this space, you can begin to create a more grounded feeling in your life. And working on this chakra is key when you want to balance the rest of your body’s energies. This is the foundation point, the red glowing energy center that spins and is related to the Earth.

Sacral Chakra

Moving up the body to the place of your pelvic bowl, that space between your pelvis and your belly button is the Sacral chakra. This is the space of sexual energy, the point of creation and emotion. Associated with water and with the color orange, this chakra is the place where you can cultivate more compassion for yourself. If you find you are having troubles sexually or your emotions are hard to control, this is a place to focus your attention. 

Solar Plexus Chakra

The space between your belly button and your breast bone is the place for the Solar Plexus chakra. This is often the most relatable chakra, since it is the place of power and will. This is the place where you get intuitive hits, the place when you tap into your ‘gut’ to figure out what is happening. The color of this chakra is yellow and the element is fire. When you tap into this chakra, you will be able to balance your personal power and come into right relationship with your self-esteem.

Heart Chakra

The Heart chakra is easy to locate on the body and is associated with the color green and the element of air. This is the space of love and compassion for others. In this energy space, you will be able to find joy and connection in the world. As the bridge between the lower and upper chakras, the Heart chakra is the place of great knowing and understanding. It can also be a place to tap into when you feel your creativity waning.

Throat Chakra

Located at the base of the throat, the Throat chakra is the place of communication and truth. The color of this chakra is blue and the element is ether/spirit. If this chakra is in alignment, you will be able to speak your truth and you will not hold back words you fear might be hurtful. Those who have neck problems can focus on this chakra to find relief and to begin to release the associated tension.

Third Eye Chakra

On your forehead and between your eyes is the Third Eye chakra. This is the point of intuition and perception, a place of knowing things without knowing how you know them. Often linked with indigo and the elements of Light/Mind, this chakra is the one that you can touch when you want to access greater knowledge or when you want to see beyond the modern reality and into what is unseen.

Crown Chakra

At the top of your head is the Crown chakra, the place where you are able to access wisdom of spirit, whatever you call it. This is a chakra that is linked with violet and is the place for finding enlightenment. You can tap on this chakra to remember that you are always connected to the divine wisdom of the universe.

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
error: Alert: Content is protected !!